Category Archives: The Man Who Asked to Be Killed

An interesting review of THE MAN WHO ASKED TO BE KILLED

  Normally I wouldn’t reproduce Amazon reviews here, but I found this recent one especially interesting. Others have talked about the plot of this story and I’m not sure if I could recap all the connections if I tried, but … Continue reading

Posted in book reviews, The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Tagged | Leave a comment

ANNAPOLIS IN LATE SUMMER

  Four days a week I go to a gym, and three days a week I take a long walk. For readers of The Man Who Asked to Be Killed, the scenes above and those immediately below are from the road Buddy … Continue reading

Posted in Annapolis, The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Leave a comment

Flash Fiction: Mommy’s Pearls

The hole in the revolver barrel pressed into his thick black hair—hair that made him look younger than forty and was his political trademark. Were he to pull the gun away from his temple, a small, round O would be … Continue reading

Posted in Flash Fiction, The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Washington Independent Review of Books: THE MAN WHO ASKED TO BE KILLED

I’m especially proud of the review of The Man Who Asked to Be Killed at The Washington Independent Review of Books because the reviewer, Philip K. Jason, is an emeritus English professor, a stranger to me. Since he taught at … Continue reading

Posted in book reviews, The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Tagged | Leave a comment

Throwing knives: How often do they come up in literature?

Throwing knives–knives you throw for sport–have a role in my novel The Man Who Asked to Be Killed.  I was surprised to find throwing knives in a 2013 post “Two Asians and a Hag” on the blog Speak Loser, Speak by … Continue reading

Posted in blogs, humor, The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Tagged | Leave a comment

10,000th view of “He Wishes She Wouldn’t Read in Bed,” trailer for The Man Who Asked to Be Killed

If you haven’t seen it, watch it here: http://vimeo.com/43326417

Posted in book covers, He Wishes She Wouldn't Read in Bed, The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Leave a comment

THE MAN WHO ASKED TO BE KILLED, a different kind of cozy. Have a beer with Buddy…

PAPERBACK OR KINDLE EDITION AT  Amazon  BARNES&NOBLE.COM paperback OR Nook, OR FOR Kobo, OR BUY FROM POWELL BOOKS, OR ORDER AT ANY BOOKSTORE.  “I was with Thea when she was murdered.”   “I’m a manly man, huh? I drink tea and eat yogurt, you realize.” “I … Continue reading

Posted in The Man Who Asked to Be Killed | Tagged | Leave a comment